Rum cocktails are DEFINITELY in my future

Perusing my Mr. Boston Bartender’s Guide recently, looking for some new summer drinks to try, especially some lighter drinks,I was intrigued by the Rum martini.

For a little more insight, I Googled “rum cocktails” and found rumdood.com, a site that looks good and has lots of info, run by Matt Robold, a bartender at a restaurant called 320 Main in Seal Beach, in Orange County, CA. He is a rum nut, to be blunt. Which is exactly what I need!

So he features these two cocktails that I definitely need to try.

El Presidente

1.5 oz Aged Rum
.75 oz Dry Vermouth
.25 oz Curacao
.5 tsp Grenadine

Stir with ice, strain into a chilled cocktail glass.  Garnish with an orange or lemon twist.

Palmetto

1.25 oz Aged Rum
1.25 oz Sweet Vermouth
2 dashes Orange Bitters

Stir with ice, strain into a chilled cocktail glass.  Garnish with a lemon or orange twist.

My liquor cabinet is barren of both aged rum and Curacao, since I never buy either one, so there is a trip to the local Binny’s coming up here pretty soon. And today is Friday, so . . .

Cheers!

Comments are closed.