Sports and Radio: A Good Combo

The new radio team of the Chicago White Sox did their first broadcast yesterday; Teddy Greenstein of the Chicago Tribune has an account here.

I really liked John Rooney, who left the White Sox at the end of last season after something like 18 years, because the contract negotiations fell apart when the White Sox moved from ESPN 1000 to 670 The Score. Though not even a White Sox fan, I really liked Rooney; the guy is just flat out good. Now, Cardinals fans get to enjoy his professionalism and class. Truly a pro’s pro, as Mr. Greenstein says in the article above.

So the new team is Ed Farmer doing play-by-play (he was the color analyst with Rooney for many years), and ex-White Sox player Chris Singleton. Time will tell.

Why do I listen to radio broadcasts? In the case of the White Sox, it’s mainly because I friggin’ hate Hawk Harrelson, who calls the TV side. Hate him. Hate his voice, hate his style, hate his cadence. I don’t really want to hear the phrase “duck snort” while watching a ball game, OK? Is that too much to ask? I think not. Yes, he does tell a good story now and again, from his playing days, but other than that, I’ve got no use for him. Lose him.

And no, I can’t watch the TV with the sound off and listen to the radio, because of the satellite delay with our TV satellite system. Tried it, and the delay is like 4-5 seconds. Not an option.

I’ve always liked sports on radio. Not sure why. Maybe it reminds me of listening to games when I was a kid, in the late 60s and early 70s. Especially Blackhawks games with Lloyd Pettit. You haven’t heard drama on a radio broadcast until you’ve heard his voice shouting “a shot, and a goal!” followed by the crazed cheering of 19,000 hockey fanatics and a pipe organ blasting the roof off of the old Chicago Stadium. It still sends chills down my spine, just thinking about it now. I can remember it as if it happened yesterday … Sunday nights, sitting in my room, usually doing the homework I’d been putting off all weekend, and listening to the Hawks game on the radio.

Today, I like radio because I can be in the car, or in the garage, the basement, outside, riding my bike, whatever, and be able to listen to a game. I.e., I don’t have to plop my ass on the couch, although there are times when that does sound good. 😉

Mostly, though, I think I like sports on radio because it requires more engagement of the listener than TV does of the viewer. Plus, the announcers are usually better. Oh, and no network promos for idiotic reality shows.

1 comment
  1. CGHill said:

    Same issues here in OKC with the Hornets; the TV guys are pretty good, but the radio guys are infinitely better. (Same time-delay issues, too.)