Catching Up

I’ve been pretty quiet on this site recently, since we’ve been traveling a lot. My four regular readers are disappointed, I’m quite sure. So here’s my attempt to catch up.

Bears win, lose, win. Grossman returns, proves he is far from the team’s only problem. Or, even the biggest problem. Devin Hester continues to amaze. Cedric Benson gets hurt and crowd stays silent during his exit from the field; this tells you everything you need to know about his future here.

Bulls lose, win, lose, lose, lose, lose, win. They basically stink. Maybe someday they won’t stink. You heard it here first!

Blackhawks win, lose, lose, win, win, lose, lose. They are 12-9-2 right now, with 26 points (6 behind division-leading Detroit), and are far and away the best thing going in Chicago sports right now. You probably have no idea how amazing it is to make that statement with a straight face (and it is – my face I mean. Would I lie to you right now? Of course not.).

Cubs say goodbye to Jason Kendall, after he signs with Milwaukee. Yay.

I choked in my college football Lock of the Week pool; after being tied for first at 8-2 with 3 weeks left, I then lost ALL THREE games. Missouri, Navy, and Kansas are now dead to me.

My local high school, Wheaton Warrenville South, lost the state 7A championship in football, after winning 27 games in a row over the last two years and being generally recognized as the among the top 3 or 4 programs in the state of Illinois, and ranked nationally. They normally run all over opponents, especially in the second half, but Lake Zurich’s defense held them to SEVEN yards rushing in 24 carries and only 3 points. This is unheard of. Congratulations to Lake Zurich, they deserve any and all accolades for that performance.

Comments are closed.