Kids Say The Darnedest Things

On Sunday morning, as I was driving my two youngest boys to Sunday school, my eight year old asked how many people live in Wheaton. He guessed 500, then 1,000, then 2,000, then 10,000.

Finally, laughing, he asked, “A million?”

It’s around 58-60,000, so I finally let him in on that elusive piece of info.

Then he said, “can you believe I used to think there were only 204 people in all of Illinois? Then I remembered, that was the number of square people in Illinois.”

Me: “Square people?! You mean people per square mile, I think.”

We all laughed. But he’s closer to the truth than he knew; I imagine there are a lot more than 204 square people in Illinois.

And since Wheaton College only recently overturned their ban on dancing, and on allowing grad students and faculty to drink alcohol off-campus, I’d guess there are a lot more than 204 square people on campus.

Comments are closed.