Cain’t Get Nuthin’ Past Me

When I think back on all the crap I learned in high school,
it’s a wonder I can think at all
but though my lack of education hasn’t hurt me none
I can read the writing on the wall.
– Paul Simon, “Kodachrome”, 1973

I’ve been listeing to this song a long time. Heard it probably a few thousand times, at least. But it never occurred to me until today that the “… hasn’t hurt me none” line was supposed to be a wry commentary. I.e., the choice of words “hasn’t hurt me none” shows that the dumbass can’t communicate very well, which directly contradicts the concept those words are trying to express.

Or maybe it wasn’t wry at all.  Maybe I just imagined that.  Maybe it just means that’s how people talk when they is un-edu-macated.

You’re probably thinking right about now, “well, there’s 45 seconds of my life I’ll never get back”.

HA!  I got you beat.  I lost 10 minutes of my life just thinking about it and typing it all down.

Comments are closed.