A-Rod in the Postseason

Not Too Great, Sports Fans

Last December, Alex Rodriguez signed his latest “biggest contract ever”, for 10 years and $275M.

Let’s review his post-season play over the last 4 years. I added them up in my head over at baseball-reference.com.

It wasn’t that hard, because the numbers aren’t very high.

2004 – 2007 post-season offense for A-Rod:
.245 Avg (23 H in 94 AB), 15 R, 9 RBI
22 K, 14 BB
10 extra base hits (6 doubles, 4 home runs).

9 RBI in 94 AB … why, at that pace, he could get nearly 60 RBI in a full season!

22 strikeouts against 23 hits … yeah, I want that guy on my post-season roster.

If he’s so great, why are his post-season numbers so much worse than his regular-season numbers?

Call me crazy, but for that kind of dough, I expect big contributions, every year, both in the regular season and the post-season, to at least a World Series title or three. But it doesn’t seem to work that way. So why spend the money?

And the larger question, of course, is “what contribution do regular season stats really make to a team’s success?” I already know what I think about that, but stats discussions get pretty boring, pretty quickly. I’ll spare you. But A-Rod, all by himself, tends to make the case that regular season stats don’t mean much in the big picture of winning World Series titles.

2 comments
  1. Mike said:

    You’re going to love this one from the Trib:

    Hitters faced live pitching for the first time Wednesday and, as usual, the pitchers were ahead of the hitters, though some weren’t throwing strikes. Kosuke Fukudome swung at only two pitches while facing Les Walrond, Carmen Pignatiello and Jose Ceda, hitting a grounder and fouling one off.

    “I was ready to swing at a strike, but I didn’t see too many,” Fukudome said. “That’s why I just watched.”

    ******

    What a breath of fresh air. Between Fukudome, Theriot, DeRosa, D-Lee, and hopefully Soto, we finally have a number of disciplined hitters on the team. Thank god.

  2. And it’s all because of Lou … it’s amazing what an impact he has had on this team, isn’t it? Players that contribute to winning baseball. What a concept!

    Only took a hundred years.