Game #1: Brewers 4, Cubs 3

Cubs legend Ernie Banks next to his new statue (03-31-08) Back when I was a young baseball fan, the player I idolized most was Ernie Banks. Today, he was honored with a statue outside Wrigley Field.

A pretty nice birthday present, I must say. Really, Cubs, you shouldn’t have. It’s a little over the top. But I think I’ll keep it.

Then the Cubs went out and lost to the Brewers 4-3 in their sesaon opener.

The list of Cubs who had a good day has two members: Carlos Zambrano, who pitched 6 and 1/3 scoreless innings but again had to leave early because of cramps, and new Cub Kosuke Fukudome, who went 3-3 with a double and a 3 run homer to tie the game in the ninth.

However, the reason they were losing 3-0 in the first place was because new closer Kerry Wood entered a scoreless game in the top of the ninth and hit the first batter, with his first pitch; two hits and one walk later, it was 3-0.

(box score)

1 comment
  1. I maintain the rather old-fashioned view that this is my work and it’s in the public arena, but that doesn’t entitle everyone to know what happened at home before coming here….