NLDS Game 2: Dodgers 10, Cubs 3

Wow.

I didn’t think it was even possible for the Cubs to top their ridiculous display of general ineptitude and lack of preparation from the night before, but they did.

Here’s the box score, log, and game story on Yahoo. If you care.

I didn’t even watch this disaster; saw parts of the first two innings, including the unbelievable string of errors in the Dodgers’ half of the second inning that allowed the Dodgers to score 5 runs. First and third, one out, grounder to second, easy double play ball.  E-4, DeRosa. Run scored, and they added 4 more in the inning.  None of them should have scored.

That was enough for me; I have a policy against watching playoff teams that don’t show up. So I watched “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia”, which is the funniest show on TV, by the way. And I’m glad I did.

Because otherwise, I’d have been watching the Cubs getting their butts kicked for the second game in a row. At home, where they’ve been dominant this year. These two games have easily been, to my recollection, the worst two consecutive games they’ve played all season. Call me crazy, but the playoffs is when you want to play better, generally speaking.

So the whole Cubs organization should be embarrassed now.  If the players on this team have any guts whatsoever, they’ll bring some effort on Saturday, and maybe even, oh, I don’t know, play some good baseball, across the board, like they did all season long, for a change? That would be sweet.

And certain players, whose names rhyme with Soriano, Lee, and Ramirez, had better figure out a way to become effective at offense, instead of offensive, in the postseason. That’s why you guys make the big bucks, after all.

The postseason is when reputations are made.  This 2007-2008 team is making themselves an unmistakable reputation for choking, and they have one game left to begin to right that ship.

Comments are closed.