Brining Turkey

Ever since I discovered turkey brining a few years ago, it’s the only way we make our Thanksgiving turkey.

It’s very simple:  you need a 5 gallon bucket, a turkey, and some kind of brine to soak it in for 12 hours or more.

The brine I use is very simple and makes the turkey very moist, even the white meat.  Just mix 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of salt (kosher, regular, whatever) into about 1/2 gallon of cool water, and mix it very well.  Put the turkey in the bucket.  Add water to top it off, and put the bucket into a cold space like a garage or outside.  Or, you can put lots of ice in the bucket with some water, and keep it in your house, but then you have to be careful about not letting the water get warm.  I like the garage method myself.

If using a frozen turkey, thaw it out first; I’m not sure how well brining works if the meat is frozen.

After cooking, the dark meat will fall off the drumstick, it is so moist.  The white meat tastes moist even cold in a sandwich.  Plus the sugar and salt add a little extra flavor.  It’s simply delicious.

There are all kinds of brining recipes you can use, just Google it and do some experimenting.  I wouldn’t mind something that adds a little more spice to the white meat, myself.

Comments are closed.