Counting My Blessings

As usual, I don’t count my blessings nearly often enough, so with Christmas upon us, now is a great time to do that. And since I have a website, right here is a great place to do it..

  • I’m grateful that … this year I got to see my Uncle Bill for the first time in close to 15 years. He’s the closest thing to a big brother — or any kind of brother — that I ever had, and we have been separated by thousands of miles and other barriers for too long. He’s only 6 years older than I am so the “Uncle” tag is a little misleading.
  • I’m grateful that … even though I lost the job I had earlier this year, and don’t see those people much any more, I have yet another good job 20 minutes from home, and I was only out of work for 3 months, so we didn’t really go through any tough times.
  • I’m grateful that … my kids are happy and healthy, despite my influence in their lives. 🙂
  • I’m grateful that … my oldest boy is starting to show signs of maturing into a grown up young man, and none too soon, I might add.
  • I’m grateful that … my middle boy is so even-tempered and happy all the time, because he brings joy to me, and my wife, and others too, just by being himself and having fun with life.
  • I’m grateful that … my youngest boy is still only 7, and in first grade, so I can pretend I still have young kids at home, before the race from First Grade to Senior Year is over too fast.
  • I’m grateful that … my wife puts up with my weird ways, and tries to understand when I’m not in the mood to talk about something, and has faith in me, and in us, that we can work around such things.
  • I’m grateful that … I have my health, and can still bike, and run, and swim, and work out at the Y. Lots of people my age can’t, and while there are no guarantees for my own future in that department, I plan on taking advantage of it for a long time.
  • I’m grateful that … I’ve come to grips with my own place in the world, my strengths and weaknesses, and am pretty OK with it.
  • I’m grateful that … my wife has found the things that make her happy, and let go of some things from the past that were holding her back, and we both see the [positive results of it every day.
  • I’m grateful that … my Dad lived until I was 47 years old, and even though we developed some distance over the last few years of his life, his influence on me is lasting and I think of him often (I miss you, Dad!).
  • I’m grateful that … my Mom is still alive, and in decent health (although it could be much better), though I wish she didn’t live 900 miles away.
  • I’m grateful that … my faith journey has been gently guided by my wife, who is very driven by her own faith journey, even though I find reasons not to be. Maybe someday I can be more like her. I am trying.
  • I’m grateful that … I have a blog and can therefore find the outlet for my need to put words on “paper”.
  • I’m grateful that … my attitude about life is more positive now because I (try to) have faith that things will work out. And they usually do.
  • I’m grateful that … I’ve forgiven myself (mostly) for a huge mistake in judgment I made in my early 20s. Beating yourself up doesn’t undo something you did; it’s important to not just resolve to do better next time, and to learn something from it, but to forgive yourself and allow God to forgive you, too.
  • I’m grateful that … I was born in a country guided by the Founding Fathers, who were wise enough to use liberty as the guiding prinicple of the Constitution, which allows nearly unlimited mobility and freedom to be or do anything you want, at your own benefit / peril. Whatever you make of yourself is mostly due to things you did before, and most places in the world aren’t that accomodating.
  • I’m grateful that … we have the most powerful and benevolent military ever to occupy this (or any other) planet, and we use it mostly for only the right reasons, and the fact that we have it at all provides untold and under-appreciated levels of security (and therefore freedom and wealth) for everybody who lives in freedom everywhere in the world. Really.
  • I’m grateful that … I’ve been able to make a decent living using what God gave me: my brain, and a personality that is just social enough to fit in well enough in nearly every environment and every personal situation I’ve been in.
  • I’m grateful that … my life has worked almost exactly the way I wanted it to. Education, marriage, family, kids, just enough prosperity but not too much (I hope).
  • I’m grateful that … I woke up today.

If you haven’t counted your blessings lately, now might be a good time.

Merry Christmas and a Healthy and Prosperous New year to all!

1 comment
  1. Mike said:

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, JB.