Hockey’s Windy City Renaissance

Recently I started writing for a sports site called The Love of Sports, which is dedicated more to celebrating the positive things about sports instead of obsessing over the negativity that is so prominent in sports these days.

My first published piece is up; it’s called Hockey’s Windy City Renaissance. It’s about all the ways that the new owner Rocky Wirtz has been a wonderful thing for all Blackhawks fans.

The site is pretty entertaining, with Top 10 lists, and some good writers providing content. Like, you know, me. Only better.

So please click over to that site, and to my content, I’d appreciate it!

UPDATE:  I posted the original (longer) piece on my site as “The Chicago Blackhawks are Back, and So Are Their Fans”.

2 comments
  1. Mike said:

    Great article, JB. Truly one of your best.

    It’s hard to explain what the experience of a Blackhawks game was at Chicago Stadium. I generally start by telling people that I prefer baseball, football, and basketball to hockey. I then proceed to say that I love Wrigley, I love Bears games, and of course love Bulls games, especially did during the Jordan era. But despite all that, the most exciting event in Chi-Town was a Hawks game at Chicago Stadium. I’m sorta using the past tense because I’ve lived in California since 1993.

    I’ve never experienced decibel levels like the ones at the old stadium. It’s the only time in my life that the expression ‘can’t hear myself think’ held a literal meaning. The best was when the Hawks would play a Canadian team. Before the game, they’d present the Canadian National Anthem first and the crowd would boo and shout like crazy. Then, once the American anthem started, with the great Wayne Messmer on vocals, nobody sang or listened… they just screamed! It was so loud that even if you covered your ears, the sound consumed your mind. Somehow, as the song reached crescendo, the screaming got even louder. It was absurdly loud. And as you know… unless you’ve been there, you simply can’t understand the experience. It was a religious jingoism.

    I’ve been fairly cosmopolitan my entire life. But I will say this. Hockey at Chicago Stadium belonged to what other cities know as ‘the bridge and tunnel crowd’. Hawks fans were not the city crowd. They weren’t even really the near suburban crowd. The Hawks somehow belonged to the outlying suburbs. These fans were in the greatest numbers and the upper deck was almost better for Hawks games.

    Thanks for writing this article and bringing back memories.

  2. jb said:

    Thanks … and you are so dead-on with your description there.