Songs I Like a Lot: “Reason to Believe”

Rod Stewart did the most famous version, and it’s the only one I know well. Here he is from 2008:

Partial lyrics and tab:

G             D              G
If I listened long enough to you
           C      D                     G
I'd find a way to believe that it's all true
A                D             C             G
Knowing that you lied straight faced while I cried
        Em             C         D
Still I look to find a reason to believe

CHORUS:
             C            D            Em      D
Someone like you makes it hard to live without somebody else
             C            D                Em          D
Someone like you makes it easy to give and never think about myself

.

Great use of words, timeless message, beautiful melody.

A perfect song, pretty much.

Which is one reason why it’s been recorded by at least 15 different artists, including Dashboard Confessional, Bruce Springsteen, Peter Paul and Mary, Bobby Darin, Gary Lewis and the Playboys, the Carpenters, Billy Bragg, and many others.

I suspect that most songwriters would sell their soul to write one song this good, this durable, this timeless, in their entire career.

“Reason to Believe” was written by Tim Hardin in 1965. He died in 1980, aged just 39 years.

Another good version, this one by Billy Bragg and Lisa Miller:

Comments are closed.