Penguins of Madagascar Cartoon is Top Notch Entertainment

I don’t write reviews very often, but I just have to let you in on a fabulous secret: this new cartoon “Penguins of Madagascar” on Nickelodeon is fantastic.

Hilarious, clever, with excellent quality animation, it’s all about the silly hijinks that a bunch of zoo animals get into on a regular basis. But as funny as that can be, it isn’t what really makes this cartoon must see TV.

It’s the voices, and the writing, which are both really well-executed and absolutely hilarious. Easily some of the funniest I’ve ever seen in animation, going back to the classic Bugs Bunny and Roadrunner days.

There are some great characters too. My favorite is King Julien, the self-anointed King of the Lemurs. He has some kind of broken English accent and says silly things like “this is how a king is to be rolling” and “stop with the telling me things I don’t want to hear!”.

Another favorite is Skipper, the lead penguin who treats his gang like an elite Special Forces crew. He sounds a little bit like John Wayne (spit this line out staccato with emphasis on the bolded letters): “he thinks he can bribe us with his pinata promises”.

My kids and I quote King Julian and Skipper all the time. Then we all laugh like loons. What could be better than that?

I could go on and on, but that would be wasting your time and mine. Just watch it and see what you think. It’s a big hit around our house. And I would even watch it when the kids aren’t around, it really is that entertaining. Think “Sponge Bob” with less annoying voices and more characters, many of them very funny.

Here is a review in the L.A. Times.

The premiere in March was the most watched show in Nickelodeon history.

Comments are closed.