Off the Field with Randy Brown

Randy Brown hit a low point in April. A really, really low point.

He got fired from his NBA assistant coaching job with the Sacramento Kings. Even worse, all of his possessions were auctioned off in bankruptcy court.

As if all that weren’t already bad enough, among his possessions were three irreplaceable items: his three NBA championship rings from his years with the Chicago Bulls.

You can always buy another house, and more cars, furniture and clothes. It’s just stuff. And like all “stuff”, none of it really matters all that much, even though we tell ourselves that it does.

When you can buy another one pretty much any time you want, it is less valuable, by definition.

It is another thing entirely to lose a championship ring. A championship ring oozes with meaning. It symbolizes sacrifice, teamwork, and achievement. It represents something few players ever experience: the pinnacle of success for your sport. It demands respect from peers and fans alike. And it reminds you of many good memories and the people that made up one of the best parts of your life. Along with much more, I’m sure.

Brown admits it’s all his fault:

”It’s my fault. I can see how it all happened and the mistakes I made. Like others, I trusted the wrong people, people who were my best friends. Some even lived with me. I never thought of myself as being a big spender, but I did loan and give away a lot of money to so-called friends who never paid me back.”

But now, in a turn of events that would seem far too obvious for even a Hollywood screenwriter,, all of that is changing for Randy Brown. For the better.

This past Wednesday, he was named director of player development with the Bulls.

And Jerry Reinsdorf, owner of the Bulls, has even promised to replace those irreplaceable championship rings.

  • New job with your old team: check.
  • Replace irreplaceable rings: check.

Randy Brown is one lucky man.

And he has some good advice:

”I can’t wait to address the incoming NBA rookies at the next retreat. I want them to know that the wisest things they can do are save, trust the right people and be very, very careful where you invest. I learned my lessons the hard way. Thank God my wife, Tamara, and I have a chance to start all over again with our three children, Justin, Janel and Diamond.”

Comments are closed.