Ur doin’ it wrong

I guess the “art therapy rehab” didn’t work so great.

Two of the four leaders allegedly behind the al Qaeda plot to blow up a Northwest Airlines passenger jet over Detroit were released by the U.S. from the Guantanamo prison in November, 2007, according to American officials and Department of Defense documents. […] American officials agreed to send the two terrorists from Guantanamo to Saudi Arabia where they entered into an “art therapy rehabilitation program” and were set free, according to U.S. and Saudi officials.

Huh.

Let me get this straight. You’re telling me that releasing terrorist, enemy-combatant scumbags from military prison has consequences?

And that finger paints didn’t pacify their American-murdering ways?

Wow. I need a second here. Holy crap! This could be a problem.

I was under the impression that these fine fellows would retire to a life of leisure and philanthropy. I mean, what else am I to think when so many smart people were telling us that we were depriving these gentlemen of their rights?

And now we find out that they received the much-ballyhooed art therapy and still went back to trying to commit mass murder?

I just don’t know what to believe any more.

It’s almost enough to make me think the idea to release them in the first place was dangerous and naive, and even stupid, not to mention “objectively pro-terrorist”, to borrow a line from George Orwell.

Maybe we should give them a wad of cash when we release them. And a car. Maybe a blank passport, too. There must be something we can do to help them, and make them like us!

Comments are closed.