Serendipity

YouTube – The Toys – A Lover’s Concerto ( Live 1965 )

I’ve always liked this song, and today it was the first song I heard in the car on the way home from the hospital where my 10-year-old son had spent the last 18 hours. He’s OK now, thank God. But when your bright-eyed, talkative, hyperactive son suddenly turns unresponsive and forgets how to spell his last name or get into a car, you get a little concerned. And then, when he doesn’t even recognize his brother, and his brother starts to cry, well, just try to imagine what that is like.

So today at 2:55 p.m. I was driving home from the hosptial, already feeling lucky, and then this song came on, and I felt like it was meant just for me.

And it was good.

And so from now on, every time I hear Lover’s Concerto, I’ll remember today, and the way it felt to know that my son is still healthy after a very scary episode. And it will be good, all over again.

2 comments
  1. Karen said:

    Glad everything’s OK!

  2. CGHill said:

    Easily the best R&B hit ever written by Johann Sebastian Bach.