“This is the day that the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

You know, whatever your opinions on religion, or Christianity, or Rick Santorum and his evil plot to take over the American government and run it from Vatican City or whatever he is accused of today, that right there is some pretty solid advice.

“This is the day that the Lord has made.”

Hey, it’s here, it’s now, might as well face it, right? Time spent worrying about the past or the future is time wasted.

“Let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

Attitude is everything, and while I know that in my head, living that way is a little more difficult at times. I have really struggled with staying positive these last few years, with the death of my dad, middle-aged struggles with career, energy and fitness levels, and all the rest of it, plus some unfortunate family drama and emotional upheaval that I sometimes wonder if I did enough to avoid in the past or handled right while it was going on, and then all the usual kinds of things that a man of 50+ years starts to look back on and question about his life. You wonder why people freak out about getting older? Here’s one reason: you hear the clock ticking louder and louder, and you know the bulk of your years where you feel at the top of your game are in the rear view mirror. Suddenly, the inherent confidence that comes with being 35 and feeling in charge of your life is … it’s just not really there any more. But despite all that, I’m still here, and I still have an awful lot to be thankful for, including a great wife and 3 healthy, energetic kids and I love them all to death, and truth be told, I’m just not sure what I would be doing with my life without their steadying influence and my sense of debt to their needs.

I’ll be 53 soon. This is not making me very happy, as you can well imagine, but I have to stop and remind myself how very lucky I am in so many ways. The inability to keep positive all the time and to worry excessively has always been a struggle for me, though all things considered, I’m doing better at keeping those demons at bay these last few years than the 35-year-old me would have.

“Let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

Rejoice – that’s a nice word. It says a lot in two syllables and seven letters. And it’s something I don’t do nearly often enough. And by saying “let us rejoice”, it invites all of us to rejoice, not just me or you or the guy down the street.

Be glad in it – just do it. Be glad. Be thankful for your blessings, even just once a day. Even if you did die tomorrow, wouldn’t you wish from beyond the grave that you had spent more time being glad? I would.

So I think, for me, right now, this very moment, this biblical saying has to become a new centerpiece for my daily quiet times during the day when I plan my activities and set the stage for my overall outlook on my life for that particular day.

What say you?

From Psalm 118:24.

 

Comments are closed.