Feel the burn

We are now, officially, a P90X family.

P90X, if you live under a rock or something, is a workout and fitness plan from Tony Horton, well-known fitness dude. Tony was kind enough to fill up 12 DVDs with various forms of torture including push-ups, pull-ups, yoga, core workouts, plyometrics, and ken-po, plus a whole bunch more that I haven’t even seen yet, and supposedly if you do all this for an hour a day for 90 days, you will be in some decent kind of shape. Maybe even ripped, if you go crazy with it and eat like 1800 calories a day.

So my twelve-year-old son Jacob, who is a bit of a nut about working out (and I don’t know how that happened, he did not get it from me), talked me into buying this. It arrived Thursday. A box, a couple of pamphlets, and DVDs, all ready to go. There’s your fitness, pal, right in them there DVDs! It’s simple. All you have to do is put in the 90+ hours of sweating, groaning, and feeling things rip inside you.

Jacob, of course, has already done like an entire week’s worth of the plan, in the first four days. But what else should we expect from a kid who used to taunt sprinklers in the front yard? His younger brother Jordan has done a few of them too. I’m easing into it, and so is my wife, so we started yesterday with a little intro: the yoga DVD. But neither of us could finish it. So tonight, somewhere around 7:30 p.m., is the official Day 1 of the P90X plan for me.

I hope to be able to move tomorrow.

2 comments
  1. I’ve heard nothing but good things about the P90X series;) All the best of luck with it and I look forward to sharing more with you:)