Songs I Like A Lot: “You’re the Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me” by Gladys Knight and the Pips

Goodness gracious listen to the woman’s voice! And then again, and then another time or two.

Turn it up kinda loud to hear her amazing power and subtlety. She owns this song, and these words, great words by Jim Weatherly, that speak of wisdom from living a long and full life, complete with peaks and valleys, knowing not all of it was great but most of it was pretty good, and that bound up in all of that, inextricably and completely, was your wife or husband who you know deep down is on your team and your team alone.

But reading the words, good as they are, is not even in the same universe as listening to a great singer just flat out own a song, as Gladys Knight owns this one. I can’t even read a single line below without hearing her voice singing it in my head.

Dedicated to my wonderful wife, who is clearly the best thing that ever happened to me.

Enjoy!

I’ve had my share
Of life’s ups and downs
But fates been kind
The downs have been few

I guess you could say
That I’ve been lucky
Oh, I guess you could say
That it’s all because of you

(chorus)
If anyone
Should ever write
My life’s story
For whatever reason
There might be
You’ll be there
Between each line of pain and glory
‘Cuz you’re the best thing
That ever happened to me
You’re the best thing
That ever happened to me

There have been times
When times were hard
But always somehow I made it
I made it through
‘Cuz for every moment
That I spent hurting
There was a moment
That I spent
Just lovin’ you

via youtube.com

Comments are closed.