Bill Murray on seeing Wrigley Field in person for the first time

So when I was 7 years old, I was taken to my first Cubs games, and my brother Brian said, “Wait, Billy,” and he put his hands over my eyes, and he walked me up the stairs. And then he took his hands away. [He begins to get choked up.] And there was Wrigley Field, in green. There was this beautiful grass and this beautiful ivy. I’d only seen it in black and white. It was like I was a blind man made to see. It was something.

via Bill Murray Loves Baseball – Old Time Family Baseball and the New York Times

Remarks: I will never forget the first time I walked out from the darkness under the stands at Wrigley and saw the green of the grass and the ivy. It almost seems to glow. Note to self: take kids to Wrigley next year.

Comments are closed.